My Madrid Blanket

You should’ve seen my boyfriend’s face last year when I decided to buy some yarn while we were in Madrid. He couldn’t understand why on earth I needed to buy more, especially when 1) I had loads at home, 2) I could get yarn in London and 3) our hand luggage was already fully packed with goodies. However, I somehow managed to make the case as it was super-cheap (1 euro a skein) and I had one of my “twisted” ideas in mind: to buy yarn from cities we visited so I could craft something that would remind us of our holidays/weekends away.

IMG_1602

When my friend Nerea took me yarn shopping in Madrid I couldn’t resist the temptation to buy these beauties.

IMG_1603

I didn’t follow a specific pattern, but wanted to play with the colours as I crocheted along.

Crochet Granny Blanket http://www.acraftyginger.com

Crochet Granny Blanket http://www.acraftyginger.com

I decided to use a 5mm hook instead of the recommended 4mm one so it would be a bit loose.

Crochet Granny Blanket http://www.acraftyginger.com

I ran out of yarn sooner than I expected… so I decided the blanket would have to do as a sofa-nap-blanket.

Crochet Granny Blanket http://www.acraftyginger.com

Here is my lovely David taking a siesta with our Madrid blanket.

Do you feel the urge to buy yarn while travelling? Do you crochet souvenirs of the places you visit?

♣      ♣      ♣      ♣      ♣      ♣      ♣      ♣

You can follow me on:

Facebook // Instagram // Twitter  // Pinterest // Bloglovin

 

7 thoughts on “My Madrid Blanket

  1. I’ve never thought about doing this before, but now I think I will! My sister and I are taking a road trip across the country (US) in the summer and collecting yarn along the way sounds like a fabulous idea!

    • Sounds like an awesome plan! Hope you have a great time! Would love to see your yarn acquisitions and what you create with them 🙂

  2. I have, I have!! Whether the destination has good craft shops is always a consideration when booking jollydays! Poor husband. He’s as bemused as yours is!

Leave a comment here

