Crafts Shopping in Madrid

When I went to Madrid this month I had something in mind… I wanted to organise a crafty shopping day! Madrid is my hometown but I have to admit the crafts bug really bit me when I moved to London three years ago, so I didn’t really know there was so much going on in my city 🙂

After asking friends and reading a few blogs I put together a list and pitched the idea to both David and my friend Nerea (who brought her beautiful Cloe along). The idea of spending a sunny day in Madrid discovering new crafty corners and enjoying some “tapas” turned out to be even better than I expected. We had a lovely time 🙂

In case you’re planning on visiting Madrid and would like to go crafts shopping, here are my top 3 recommendations. Make sure you travel light because you’ll want to take all their goodies back with you!

Black Oveja

Located in Calle de Sagasta 7 (near the tube station Metro Bilbao), Black Oveja is definitely my favourite yarn shop in Madrid. They also sell fabrics and books and offer a wide variety of workshops throughout the year. The decoration is absolutely lovely… it feels like yarn heaven!! And the owners are really welcoming and helpful.

IMG_0424

IMG_0425

IMG_0426

IMG_0427

Soufflé

If you’re into scrapbooking Soufflé should be on your list. I fell in love with their wall decorations and their huge masking tape and stamp variety. Lots of crafty goodness to chose from. They’re located in Calle Piamonte 5 (Chueca tube station).

IMG_0418

IMG_0419

IMG_0420

IMG_0421

IMG_0422

IMG_0423

Delipapel

Delipapel is the best place to find DIY supplies. They have a bit of everything: from yarn to stamps and acrylic craft paint. They have just moved to a new venue in Calle San Mateo 9 (Tribunal tube station) with plenty more space. It is a short walk away from Soufflé, so it is worth killing two birds with one stone. We visited the shop at its old location, so I must admit these pics don’t really do it justice. I will post photos of the new one when I next visit them…

IMG_0413

IMG_0412

IMG_0415

IMG_0417

While I was in Madrid we also visited the Mercado de Motores, a beautiful monthly crafts fair which reminded me of Portobello Road Market with a hint of Camden Town Market. But that will be another post 🙂

Have you been to any of these shops? If you did, please let me know your thoughts!

Are you planning any crafty tours home or abroad? Any suggestions?

Hope you have a lovely weekend!

 

♣      ♣      ♣      ♣      ♣      ♣      ♣      ♣

You can follow me on:

Facebook // Instagram // Twitter  // Pinterest // Bloglovin

 

5 thoughts on “Crafts Shopping in Madrid

  1. Pingback: Craft Market: Mercado de Motores (Madrid – Spain) | A Crafty Ginger

  2. Oh my God. Thanks a million for taking the time to do this. I am travelling to Madrid tomorrow and I really wanted to go to a craft store. This saves me a lot of time and effort. 🙂

Leave a comment here

